Egan Bernal win the Tour de France

Egan Bernal is the youngest Tour winner

Egan Bernal win the Tour de France as the three-week race ended with the 21st and final stage on the Champs-Elysees. At 22, Bernal is the youngest Tour winner in the post-World War II era.

«I cannot believe it. It's just incredible. I am sorry. I have no words,» Bernal said through a translator. «I still can't understand what is happening to me.»

The Tour de France is an annual men's multiple stage bicycle race primarily held in France, while also occasionally passing through nearby countries. Like the other Grand Tours (the Giro d'Italia and the Vuelta a España), it consists of 21 day-long stages over the course of 23 days. It has been described as «the world’s most prestigious and most difficult bicycle race».

The 2019 Tour de France was the 106th edition of the Tour de France, one of cycling's three Grand Tours. The 3,480 km (2,162 mi)-long race consisted of 21 stages, starting on 6 July in Brussels, Belgium, and concluding on 28 July with the Champs-Élysées stage in Paris. The opening stages of the Tour (known as the Grand Départ) were held in Brussels in honour of the 50th anniversary of the first Tour de France win of Eddy Merckx. A total of 176 riders from 22 teams participated in the race.

With the race leader not challenged on the final stage, 22−year-old Bernal became the first Colombian winner. He crossed the line in the peloton, hand-in-hand with his Ineos team-mate and last year's winner Geraint Thomas, who finished second this time.

The 2019 Tour de France

«Two years ago I had my arm in a sling with a broken collarbone watching Chris Froome win, wishing I was riding and I would've taken second then, but it just shows how time and expectations have moved on. „Egan is the future and when I'm 45 and old and fat and sat in the pub watching him win a 10th Tour de France I can say I told him all I know.“

Thomas went into the three-week race as joint leader with Bernal but his preparations had been disrupted when he crashed while travelling at around 50mph in the Tour de Suisse in June.

Egan Bernal — the first Colombian winner

He had to abandon that week-long race and then he had three minor crashes during this year's Tour. Thomas led Bernal for much of the race but his team-mate was stronger in the final week in the Alps, and ended up winning by one minute 11 seconds, with Dutch rider Steven Kruijswijk 20 seconds further adrift in third. Bernal's victory is the seventh in eight years for a British-based team, after Ineos took over the ownership of the Team Sky squad earlier this year.

Bradley Wiggins became the first British winner of the race in 2012, with Chris Froome triumphing in 2013 and then claiming three in succession from 2015 before Thomas took last year's title. Bernal is just the third Colombian to win one of cycling's three Grand Tours. Nairo Quintana won the 2014 Giro d'Italia and 2016 Vuelta a Espana, while Luis Herera won the Vuelta in 1987.

28 Июля 2019